We hope you will join us here to provide your insights and comments about the high school theatre experience. We also hope to answer any questions you may have regarding the Teeny Awards, from the judging process to the ceremony.

Watch our sponsor list grow. If you know of a business that would like to join the Teeny Awards supporters, please let us know.

This is your blog. We expect that you use it in a respectful manner. It will be moderated, however, and any comments with a cruel or disrespectful tone or inappropriate language or content not be posted publicly. We hope that you use this blog to interact with students across the East End in a spirit of community. Theatre is about trust. I'm sure you will respect that. Again, welcome, and enjoy!

Monday, June 04, 2007

And the 2007 Teeny Award goes to...

Lead Actor in a Comedy

Matthew Martin, Shoreham Wading River, “The Philadelphia Story”

Lead Actress in a Comedy

Samantha Ficken, Shoreham Wading River, “The Philadelphia Story”

Supporting Actor in a Comedy

Sean Fortune, Eastport South Manor, “Rumors”

Supporting Actress in a Comedy

Alice Shanklin, Shoreham Wading River, “The Philadelphia Story”

Outstanding Performance in a Comedy

Amy Woschnik, Eastport South Manor, “Rumors”

Lead Actor in a Drama

Rory Crouse, Westhampton Beach, “The Crucible”

Lead Actress in a Drama

Alana Campbell, Westhampton Beach, “The Crucible”

Supporting Actor in a Drama

Raphael Odell Shapiro, Ross School, “Scenes of a Theme”

Supporting Actress in a Drama

Victoria Capatosto, Westhampton Beach, “The Crucible”

Lead Actor in a Musical

Kirby Garrison, Shelter Island, “Les Miserables”

Lead Actress in a Musical

Taylor Sorice, Eastport South Manor, “Little Women”

Supporting Actor in a Musical

Nicholas Vecchio, Shelter Island, “Les Miserables”

Supporting Actress in a Musical

Allison Gran, Shelter Island, “Les Miserables”

Outstanding Performance in a Musical

Tina DiFonzo, Eastport South Manor, “Little Women”


Tara McKenna, Riverhead, “Grease”


Victoria Adducci, Hampton Bays, “Little Shop of Horrors”


Erin Belfield, Riverhead, “Grease”


Nicole Keane, Pierson, Sag Harbor, “Arsenic and Old Lace”


The recipient of the 2007 Judges’ Choice Award is the ensemble work of Christopher Cunha as Franz the Butler, Kristen Grattan as Frau Schmidt, the Housekeeper, and Elizabeth Castellano as Ursula, the Maid, in Southold’s “The Sound of Music.”


Alexa Arata & Chelsea Creta, Shoreham Wading River, “The Philadelphia Story”

Thomas Barrett, Riverhead, “Grease”

Shelby Hearn, Westhampton Beach, “The Crucible, Sound of Music”

Lorie Schneider, McGann Mercy, “Godspell”

Joanna Tschurtschenthaler, East Hampton, “Hello Dolly!”

Thomas Trunzo, Ross School, “Scenes on a Theme”


This award was created in 2004 to recognize schools that go beyond the yearly plays by supporting an activity that nurtures theatre arts in education. This year’s recipient is Eastport South Manor High School (ESM) for its Theatre Program. During the past four years, ESM has developed a Theatre Program that goes well beyond the usual annual drama and musical. While working with the New York State Education Department in developing a Theatre curriculum for the state, they are trying to establish their district as the model for the State of New York.

ESM students have an opportunity to take classes in Theatre and soon will have a sequence of Theatre courses available to them when the “Regents in Theatre” becomes available. Currently, students may take Theatre I, II, & III, Stagecraft I, and Senior Acting Workshop. Plans are in the works for future classes that will additionally prepare the students for college theatre programs and the job market. They also produced a “myspace” show that was a special feature for a Newsday “FutureCorps” article. This year, the Stagecraft II class designed and built the Off-Broadway show, “To Paul,” allowing them to graduate with an Off-Broadway credit.

Bay Street Young Playwrights

Naqueeta Briggs, Girl Talk, Bridgehampton

Caroline Buser, Conversations with a Dog, Southampton

Nicholas Kaasik, La Resistance, Shelter Island

Chelsy Mitchell, Tye-Dyed, Pierson

Jared Nilsson, Finding Focus, Westhampton Beach

Jaime Samot, Being Different, East Hampton

Melissa Vazquez, The More Things Change, Pierson

Rebekah Wise, Spiderman is Whack, Southampton

Bonnie Grice of WLIU 88.3FM once again served as Mistress of Ceremonies, and honored guests and sponsors presenting awards included: Clare Bisceglia, Executive Director, Westhampton Beach Performing Arts Center; Andrew Botsford, Editor, Southampton Press; David Brandenburg, Executive Director, Hamptons Shakespeare Festival; Lori Ann Casdia, Port Jefferson Arts Council; Monica Cerise, Hudson City Savings Bank; Robert Cook and Denise Donovan, Target Stores; Lee Davis, Author & Critic; Kristen Alestra, Robby Doyle and Madeline Fallier, Westhampton Beach High School Alumni and past Teeny Award Winners; Joanna Ferraro Levy, Associate Director, Westhampton Beach Performing Arts Center; Nancy Gilbert, President, East End Arts Council; Bobby Goodale, Riverhead Building Supply; Michele Isabelle-Stark, Director, Suffolk County Office of Film and Cultural Affairs; A.J. Lebenns, Eastport South Manor Alumnus and past Teeny Award winner; Jim Morgo, Commissioner of Economic Development; Toni Munna, Teeny Awards Coordinator; Jerry Silverstein, Tony Award-nominated Composer; Laura Sisco, East Hampton High School Alumnus and past Teeny Award Winner; Patricia Snyder, Executive Director, East End Arts Council; Michael Spolarich, Senior Vice President, Chief Retail Banking Officer, Bridgehampton National Bank; Debbie Starker, Deb’s Web; Olivia Sterns, Plum TV; Fred Thiele, Assemblyman 2nd District; Stephanie Turner, Education Director, Tilles Center for Performing Arts; and Emma Walton, Founder/Director of Education & Programming for Young Audiences, Bay Street Theatre.

The audience was treated to scenes from this past year’s productions, including Emily Hudson singing “Climb Ev’ry Mountain” from Southold High School’s “The Sound of Music.” Three high schools performed for the first time at the Teeny Awards:

Hampton Bays High School - Meagan Jordan & Tommy Pandolfo, with Kelsie Sanabria, Kathryn Lerner and Kristen Moran, performed "Suddenly, Seymour" from their production of “Little Shop of Horrors."

McGann Mercy High School - Jonathan Yantz & Mike Wilson, with Gabriella Regini, Annemarie Bono, Susie Carmello, and Rachel Oberhausen, performed “All for the Best,” from “Godspell”

Shelter Island High School – Allison Gran and Nicholas Vecchio, with Michelle Card, Douglas Binder, Hope Kanarvogal, Justin Reilly, David Raffelock, and Shelby Willumsen, performed “Master of the House,” from “Les Miserables.”

Each year, The Teeny Awards© also honors Bay Street Theatre’s Young Playwrights Program, and presents one of the short one act plays produced as part of that program. The play selected for performance this year was Sag Harbor Pierson High School’s “Tye-Dyed,” by Chelsy Mitchell.

No comments: